{ESC} BOOK TEN: A WORK IN PROGRESS

Dear Reader,

I finished this book a while ago but didn’t write a review on it right away, so I ended up forgetting about it. And, actually, that pretty much sums up the experience I had while reading it. It was fine. Some of the advice given might be worth hearing (if you haven’t heard it before). But overall, it was pretty forgettable.

This is the first book I’ve read that was written by a YouTuber, and only because I got it as a gift. But I was a big Connor Franta fan for a while. He’s constantly cheerful and ambitious and is always ready for an adventure, or able to turn something into a good story–characteristics I find admirable in anyone.

But in his writing, I started getting kind of annoyed. Mostly because every chapter ended with a piece of advice–and one that I had already heard before. One that everyone has heard before. Things like “go for it” and “chase your dreams” and “look up from your phone every once in a while.” Not bad advice, by any means, but it was also the way he said it that bothered me. I felt like Connor was the annoying brother who, just because he’s a few years older, feels qualified to pass on all of his wisdom. But he’s only 22, and while he has done more than most guys his age, I found myself annoyed when, at the end of each chapter, without fail, there was some corny sentence along the lines of “What are you waiting for? Start climbing.”

That’s an actual concluding sentence from one of his chapters.

Another is: Time to hop on that high-speed train.

And another says: Start living today, not tomorrow.

And: So what are you waiting for? Let go, my friend.

Do you get my point?

But he knows that he’s young and that he still has a lot to learn–which is part of the reason why he titled it “A Work in Progress.” So maybe I’m being too hard on him. I mean, if was writing my memoirs at this age, I’d have no idea what I would say.

So, I don’t think this is going to be my favorite book written by a YouTuber, and I still have hope for those written by Carrie Hope Fletcher and Mamrie Hart and a lot others (but those two specifically). And if you can get past the lame advice and want a visually pleasing book (the pictures are great) with amusing stories that will take a day to read, then this is probably for you.

But for me, I’ll just sick with giving him 3 stars out of five and continue to watch the occasional collabs with him.

Sincerely,

Sammy

a-work-in-progress-9781476791616_hr

5 thoughts on “{ESC} BOOK TEN: A WORK IN PROGRESS

  1. rebbit7 says:

    Good review. I have been interested in reading CF’s autobiography, but at the same time I’m skeptical about how good it is. Considering that he’s only 22 (my age, in fact), I am not sure how much life experience he has had so far, compared to, say, celebrities twice, three times his age. From your review, it seems like his book is a paperback version of his Youtube videos. That being said, I might just skip reading it.

    • sincerelysammy says:

      Yeah it really is a paperback version of his Youtube videos. I think the thing that I forgot to keep in mind is that his target audience is probably a lot younger than young adults. So middle school- and high school-aged kids might love it and find that he has a lot to say and a lot of experience (because 22 can seem SO old and experienced to someone that young), but once you’re there, you find that it’s things everyone learns–whether you have this fame or not.
      And that’s why I’m especially excited to read Carrie and Mamrie’s books. I think they’ll have more of what I was really hoping to see in Connor’s.

      • rebbit7 says:

        Perhaps. Although I know Mamrie is in her 30’s, she’s still quite young to have an autobiography for her age. But compared to Connor’s, there might be more stories and life experiences. Let me know how it goes, though!

      • sincerelysammy says:

        That’s the thing about all of these Youtubers–they’re ALL really young to have autobiographies. But I think Mamrie’s will be filled with crazy stories, and she makes me laugh more than anyone else on YT, so I’m hopeful. And I’ll absolutely be letting you know what I think, once I actually read them. Reviews will be on the way as soon as I actually go out and get the books! haha

Leave a Reply

