COLLEGE IS HARD AND WHAT ARE MIDTERMS

Dear Reader,

College is hard, you guys.

Before I went, people told me that classes were going to be difficult, but there are quite a few things that they didn’t disclaim. For example, I was under the impression that each of my classes would have an exam or two–maybe a project, maybe a paper–and those would make up the majority of my grade. Homework would no longer be a thing.

That is not correct.

I have nightly homework for each class, but only two of them don’t check. In three of my classes, I’m expected to read a few articles or a chapter or something, and then write a reflection or a summary or a notecard with a question on it–just to prove that I read it.

Oh and also, that’s what homework is now. Reading. So much reading. I have to read two to three articles every class for geography. I have to read chapters in my textbook for my journalism class and my media class and my rhetorical analysis class. I have to read Shakespeare for my Shakespeare class (obviously), and I have to read books, articles, graphic novels, and everything under the sun for my literacy class. Which makes sense.

tumblr_ngho3wGVGU1s3moo5o3_250

But seriously, when I’m a teacher and kids are complaining about my class and asking why we have to read so much, I’ll just ask them: do you want to go to college? Because if yes, I don’t care what you’re majoring in, you’re going to be reading. I’ve talked to my friends in the business school and my friends who are pre-med and my friends in engineering and it’s all just reading.

Prepare yourself.

And then finally, midterm week isn’t a thing. Not really. And if it is a thing, it’s not the same for everyone. I thought last week was midterm week because I had a paper due in one class and an exam in another. Then I thought this week might be in because I had an actual midterm exam in one class and a project due in another. But now I’m pretty sure it’s next week because I have two exams and two projects due.

But that’s the thing: you don’t get one week of lots of work and then a week of break. You get work on top of work on top of work. And maybe it’s just because I’m taking six classes, but I think some of it also has to do with these teachers. I mean, we had a project due in one class and in that same class, we have an exam next week. And then I had a rhetoric exam on Monday, and he just assigned our next paper in the next class.

So, basically, I just had to vent. And sort of explain why I haven’t been writing blog posts or uploading videos. And also warn anyone who has a completely different idea of what college will be like. Because this is my reality, and I was not expecting of it.

Alright, well this was a nice 15-minute break, but I’m gonna go now. Get my nose back to the grindstone.

Is that something people still say?

Sincerely,

Sammy

11 thoughts on “COLLEGE IS HARD AND WHAT ARE MIDTERMS

  1. Building The Confidence says:

    Being that I’ve attended two colleges with two different majors I can totally vouch that they are completely different depending on where you go. When I was pre-med my midterm week was an actually week of exams on exams on lab reports and more exams. But at my new school being a double major, midterm week is two weeks of hell filled with 12page papers and exams and presentations and a trip. It’s enough to make anyones head spin. Good luck Sammy, you can do this!

  2. lamamahada says:

    Reading on reading on reading, I swear. For the past few weekend, I’ve had to read entire novels & plays [I’m a theater major] and its been so difficult. Lucky I am taking 2 courses that are more physical then reading/note taking driven, but I know what you mean. In previous semester, proffesors would pile readings upon readings on us! Vent away!

    P.S. I sent you a dm on instagram, I need your home address in order to ship you the necklace! 🌻

  3. rebbit7 says:

    Ah yes, reading…I majored in English in college, and while it’s obvious that I had to read a lot for my classes, I can say that the non-English courses that I took in tandem also required tons of article reading- some interesting, some boring. But even if it’s a pain in the ass to read a lot of literature that you would otherwise never come across again, reading is a worthy skill to have when it comes to receiving and interpreting documents and other texts in the workforce. Reading well is just as important as writing in this day and age, and until people can invent a microchip to funnel information to our brains sans effort, then we will continue to do so!

    • sincerelysammy says:

      That’s completely true! And yeah, some of the articles I’ve had to read for my geography class are the most interesting things I have to read! Other weeks, not so much. But either way, reading is important for any major I guess and it’s just a skill we have to continue to master for real worldly use as well. Go literacy! haha

  4. thatssojacob says:

    Hey there Sammy! Just clicking around the blogosphere and commenting on blogs that I think are fun and interesting, and you’re one of them. October is my birthday month, so consider this an invitation to my month-long birthday party. Hope to see you over at That’s So Jacob sometime!

Leave a Reply

