{ESC} BOOK TWELVE: THE HAPPINESS PROJECT (and intro to my own Happiness Project)

Dear Reader,

I adore this book. I picked it up at a bookstore in Columbus (post about that road trip coming soon) and immediately started reading it when I got home. And I don’t mark in every book I buy, but about four pages in, I knew I would have to for this.

Whether or not you want to start your own happiness project, I would recommend that you read this book. It’s full of awesome quotes, really cool resources (how did I not know about the website lulu.com???), and good tips on how you should go about making yourself happier. I finished this book last night and I already have a mental list of people I want to lend this to to read, as well as an actual list of resolutions I want to start implementing in my life.

In 16 days, I go back to school. And while I’m extremely excited, I’m also kind of nervous as well. I haven’t talked about it on here yet (though I’m sure I alluded to it), but freshman year was really hard for me. I found myself struggling with feelings of unhappiness and signs of depression–which was very new to me. But this year, I’m determined to be better.

So today, on August 1st, 2015, I am starting my own Happiness Project. I may not be as prepared as Gretchen was when she started hers, and it may seem kind of weird to start a year-long project in August, but waiting until January seems dumb to me. I don’t want to wait. I can’t wait.

So today, it begins.

Sincerely,

Sammy

6398634

5 thoughts on “{ESC} BOOK TWELVE: THE HAPPINESS PROJECT (and intro to my own Happiness Project)

  1. rebbit7 says:

    Good to see that you’re determined to be happy for this incoming school year! Granted, it’s hard the first year, but I assure you that things will get better over time. 🙂

    • sincerelysammy says:

      Thank you! I think laziness had a lot to do with it (I’ll probably make a blog post later about that thought). I think that if I just work hard focusing on making myself happy this year, it’ll be better. Thanks for your comment! 🙂

    • sincerelysammy says:

      There aren’t really steps that Gretchen lays out for you, except she has monthly resolutions to keep and each month she adds on, instead of completely switching them out. She does, however, have her own “Ten Commandments” and “Secrets of Adulthood” that she lives by, which I found very informative (and some hilarious) and will be trying to follow myself.

      I’m actually going to write a better introduction to my own happiness project, so that’ll be up on my blog pretty soon. But the biggest takeaway that I got from reading this book was from her first commandment: “Be Gretchen.” She basically just figured out what she loved, and also figured out who she wanted to be and who she already was.

      There’s so much you can’t really change about yourself, because that’s just who you are, so she accepted that and didn’t try and force herself to go to classical music concerts or try meditating–things that might make others happy. But she also worked on not nagging as much and trying to be more organized–things that she COULD change about herself. And then, in the end, she was left with what she felt was a better, happier version of herself, who was also more aware of who she truly is. That’s my goal.

Leave a Reply

