WEEK NINE: SNOW DAYS, SURPRISES AND SLEEPING BABIES

Dear Reader,

What do I say week after week? Focus on the good. Always. Focus. On. The good. And this week, I’ve got to say, some pretty good things happened.

IMG_0676

Starting with Thursday: I had an amazing dinner at Boulangerie

IMG_0616-2

received this snap from my friend at UC who decided to look up my house on Google Maps, which I thought was hilariously random, but also weirdly heartwarming

IMG_3572

got a text that made my day

IMG_0621-2

and discovered a dress that ruined it

0227-black-blue-dress-3 Not really, but apparently that dress is black and blue.

9

I still don’t see it.

I also took my bed apart because I wanted to switched up the room and realized I had made a HUGE MISTAKE. But, luckily, I had some good friends who helped me put it back together when I realized I couldn’t do it alone.

Life is full of crazy metaphors when you want to find them.

Then on Friday I FINALLY got to meet my niece!

IMG_0631

And I went home for Sarah’s dance competition, which I had to wake up for at 5:30 in the morning.

IMG_0627-2

But yay for roadtrips and pretty sunrises and sister bonding.

IMG_0628

Sarah also killed it with her dance team, if anyone was wondering.

11001897_10206201373063224_259030006407075309_n

We also got Mr. Freeze, a local ice cream shop that indicates the nearing of summer!!!

IMG_0632

And I went to the talent show with Kennedy and we saw the DUFF with Sarah afterwards (sidenote: would recommend)

IMG_0636 IMG_0634

Oh and more snow! WHICH I STILL LOVE AND I DON’T CARE IF YOU DISAGREE.

IMG_0638

On Sunday I was welcomed to this notification

IMG_0639

which meant the start of big/little week,

full of serenades

IMG_0694

presents

IMG_0691

and embarrassing facebook pictures

IMG_0640

As if this week couldn’t get any better, I had THE BEST day with Kassara and Desii at Pfeffer park.

IMG_0675

I had to make a video for my Intro to Video Production class (which I might just post on here later) so we went sledding, played in the park, blew snow around, and found a pretty cool ice cave/fort/thing.

IMG_0676

Prime selfie lighting, by the way.

IMG_0671

In other news of this week: I got this bomb smoothie because they made too much and filled it ALL THE WAY to the top (rare for King Cafe)

IMG_0649

and I cried my eyes out watched S3E14 of Scrubs and the most heartbreaking scene of Big Hero 6 again. No picture, but sometimes you just need a good tug at your heart strings, you know?

So that was my week–all the good minus the bad and the ugly.

It’s amazing how helpful an optimistic perspective can be. 🙂

Sincerely,

Sammy

3 thoughts on “WEEK NINE: SNOW DAYS, SURPRISES AND SLEEPING BABIES

    • sincerelysammy says:

      Yeah I had never made one of those before, but when we found it in the park it was actually really nice. And oh my gosh a weekend in them sounds like SO much fun!! I’ll definitely be trying to talk some friends into doing that with me sometime 😀

      • theoldfellowgoesrunning says:

        They are not that hard to build Samantha. Use light, fluffy, undisturbed snow, and shovel into a big heap, big enough for you and your friends to stretch out.
        Then you will have to wait until the snow naturally settles, a minimum of 3 hours, but I prefer 4 or more hours. Then start digging in. I like a minimum of 4 inches thick, I shove a stick 5 inches in from the outside in a half dozen places or so to know when you are getting close too the edge.
        You will need a camping pad, the quinzhees are very comfortable, the temperature always stays around or just below freezing, no matter how cold outside. You will also need an air hole, either on the roof, or do not completely close off the door. The max I usually get out of one is 4 nights. They do shrink from our breathing, it forms a condensation that will turn to ice. Hope you have fun with it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

