One-Hit Wonders

Dear Reader,

Have you ever been in one of those moods where all you want to do is listen to music but nothing you have is working? It’s all the same old sounds. It’s all much too familiar. You’re in desperate need for new music but everything you listen to is unsatisfying.

Well, that’s how I’ve been feeling lately.

So I’ve been looking into my “one-hit wonders.” You know, the artists that you listen to but only know one of their songs? It may not even be their most popular. I remember back when I was introduced by Flaws by Bastille. I LOVED the song. I would listen to it on repeat and sing it in the shower. Then, I decided to look into some more of their work. I found Pompeii and Daniel in the Den and Weight of Living. And now they’re one of my favorite groups.

Not all groups are like that, though. Some have a hit single for a reason. But it still doesn’t hurt to look into in the hopes that you’ll find a new favorite.

So I know I haven’t written in a while, but why make a post full of excuses when I could, instead, share some good music?

The Lighthouse and the Whaler – Pioneers

The Stationary Set – WKNDS

Halsey – Ghost

Zee Avi – Concrete Wall

Ghostbird – Toy Soldier

Sara Jackson-Holman – Cellophane

Sincerely,

Sammy

Leave a Reply

